Lo Mejor 2017 in New Orleans

Online Registration begins September 1, 2017

Lo Mejor de la Academia en Español (The Best of the Academy in Spanish) is a constructive and critical review of what was presented during the Academy Annual Meeting.

There will be round tables and panels made up of Spanish-speaking ophthalmologists so that colleagues who attend return to their countries carrying the widest possible knowledge of what was seen and heard during the Academy.

We know it is difficult to absorb en three days the different scientific and technical aspects that are presented, sometimes simultaneously, so this summary of the Academy is held immediately afterward so colleagues from Latin American and Spain can get the most out of their travel time and budget.

The panels are made up of invited ophthalmologists but we consider every participant a panelist and hope that everyone who attends will have an active participation in discussions and round tables, for the benefit of all participants.

Director: J. Fernando Arévalo MD (USA)
Co-Directors: Enrique Graue Hernández MD (Mexico); Roberto Gallego Pinazo MD (Spain)

Please note, the topics, times and speakers are subject to change.
7:00 AM - Inscripción (Registration)
8:00 AM - Bienvenida (Welcome) 
  J. Fernando Arévalo MD (USA)
8:05 AM - Oftalmología Pediátrica (Pediatric Ophthalmology) 
  Hilda Capó (USA)
8:25 AM – Trauma Ocular (Ocular Trauma)
  Gregorio F. Gabela MD (Ecuador)
8:35 AM - Tumores Oculares (Ocular Tumors)
  Zelia Correa (USA)
8:55 AM - Catarata (Cataract) 
  Jesús Arrieta Camacho MD (Mexico); Ashley Behrens MD (USA); Daniel Scorsetti MD (Argentina)
9:30 AM - Córnea (Cornea) 
  José Alejandro Claros MD (Mexico); Enrique Graue Hernández MD (Mexico); Luis Izquierdo Jr. MD (Peru)

10:00 AM - Café (Coffee Break)

10:15 AM – Exhibición Comercial (Commercial Exhibit)
  Arturo Ramírez-Miranda MD (Mexico)
10:30 AM – Retina (Retina)
  Roberto Gallego Pinazo MD (Spain); Alejandro Lavaque MD (Argentina); Marina Roizenblatt MD (USA); Armando Sandoval MD (Ecuador)
11:20 AM – Patología Ocular (Ocular Pathology)
  Abelardo A. Rodríguez Reyes MD (Mexico)
11:35 AM - Cirugía Oculo-Plástica (Oculoplastics)
  Ximena Arze MD (Bolivia); César A. Briceño MD (USA)
11:50 AM - Uveitis (Uveitis)
  Roberto Gallego-Pinazo MD (España); Benjamín Zagorín MD (Mexico)

12:00 PM - Intervalo para Almuerzo - no incluido (Lunch - not included)

1:20 PM - Neuroftalmología (Neurophthalmology)
  Cristian Luco MD (Chile)
1:40 PM – Glaucoma (Glaucoma)
  Marissé Masis (Costa Rica); Mónica Mayorga (Costa Rica)
2:20 PM - Baja Visión (Low Vision)
  Vania Garcia MD (Bolivia); Sylvina Conti MD (Argentina)
2:30 PM - Vitreo-Retina (Vitreoretinal)
  Valentina Franco Cardenas MD (Mexico); José A. Roca MD (Peru); Sergio Rojas MD (Mexico); Eduardo Uchiyama MD (USA)

3:20 PM - Café (Coffee Break)

3:35 PM - Cirugía Refractiva (Refractive Surgery) 
  Manuel García Marcos MD (Spain); Alejandro Navas MD (Mexico); Arturo Ramírez-Miranda MD (Mexico)
4:30 PM - Retinopatía Diabética (Diabetic Retinopathy) 
  José A. Roca MD (Peru)
4:45 PM - Dacriología y Superficie Ocular (Dacryology and Ocular Surface)
  Enrique Graue Hernández MD (Mexico)
5:30 PM - Conclusión (End of Session) 

A PDF certificate of attendance will be available to registered attendees 15 days after the close of the meeting.

November 15th, 2017 8:00 AM   through   5:30 PM
Ernest N. Morial Convention Center
900 Convention Center Blvd
Room 275-277 (2nd floor, above Hall H)
New Orleans, LA 70130
United States

Show large map

Help spread the word

Please help us and let your friends, colleagues and followers know about our page: 31º Lo Mejor de la Academia en Español (31st Best of the Academy in Spanish)

You can also share the below link in an email or on your website.